Computer Editorial Board and Staff

Editor in Chief

Sumi Helal
University of Florida
helal@cise.ufl.edu

Associate Editor in Chief, Special Issues

Bill Schilit
Google
schilit@computer.org

Associate Editor in Chief, Research Features

Ying-Dar Lin
National Chiao Tung University
ydlin@cs.nctu.edu.tw

Associate Editor in Chief, Multimedia Editor

Charles R. Severance
University of Michigan
csev@umich.edu

Associate Editor in Chief, Perspectives Editor

Bob Colwell
bob.colwell@comcast.net

Computing Practices Editor

Rohit Kapur
Synopsys
r.kapur@computer.org

Area Editors

Big Data and Data Analytics

Naren Ramakrishnan
Virginia Tech

Ravi Kumar
Google

Cloud Computing

Schahram Dustdar
Technical University of Vienna

Computer Architectures

David H. Albonesi
Cornell University

Green and Sustainable Computing

Kirk Cameron
Virginia Tech

Health Informatics

Upkar Varshney
Georgia State University

High-Performance Computing

Vladimir Getov
University of Westminster

Identity Science and Biometrics

Karl Ricanek
University of North Carolina
Wilmington

Internet and Web Technologies

Simon Shim
San Jose State University

Internet of Things

Roy Want
Google

Security and Privacy

Rolf Oppliger
eSECURITY Technologies

Software

Renée Bryce
University of North Texas

Jean-Marc Jézéquel
University of Rennes

Vision, Visualization, and Augmentation

Mike J. Daily
HRL Laboratories

Column Editors

Cloud Cover

San Murugesan
BRITE Professional Services

Computing and the Law

Brian Gaff
McDermott Will & Emery

Computing Conversations

Charles R. Severance
University of Michigan

Computing Education

Ann E.K. Sobel
Miami University

The Errant Hashtag

David Alan Grier
George Washington University

Indistinguishable from Magic

Antti Oulasvirta
Aalto University

Out of Band

Hal Berghel
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Science Fiction Prototyping

Brian David Johnson
Intel

Invisible Computing

Albrecht Schmidt

Out of Band

Hal Berghel
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Science Fiction Prototyping

Brian David Johnson
Intel

Security

Jeffrey Voas
NIST

Social Computing

Christian Timmerer
Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt

Software Technologies

Mike Hinchey
Lero—the Irish Software
Engineering Research Centre

Standards

Charlene (“Chuck”) Walrad
Davenport Consulting

Students Projects Showcase

Greg Byrd
North Carolina State University

32 & 16

Neville Holmes

Advisory Panel

Carl K. Chang, Iowa State University

Doris L. Carver, Louisiana State University

Theresa-Marie Rhyne, Consultant

Savitha Srinivasan, IBM Almaden Research Center

Ron Vetter, University of North Carolina Wilmington

Alf Weaver, University of Virginia

Editorial Staff

Managing Editor

Carrie Clark Walsh, ccwalsh@computer.org

Senior Editor

Chris Nelson, cnelson@computer.org

Staff Editor

Mark Gallaher, mgallaher@computer.org

Senior News Editor

Lee Garber, lgarber@computer.org

Contributing Editors

Christine Anthony, canthony@computer.org

Meghan O'Dell, m.odell@computer.org

Staff Multimedia Editors

Brian Brannon
Erica Hardison
Ben Jones

Design and Production

Monette Velasco, Lead
Jennie Zhu-Mai, Lead
Mark Bartosik
Erica Hardison
Alex Torres

Cover Design

Owen Gildersleeve

Products and Services Director

Evan Butterfield

Membership Director

Eric Berkowitz

Senior Manager, Editorial Services

Robin Baldwin

Senior Business Development Manager

Sandy Brown

Senior Advertising Coordinators

Marian Anderson, manderson@computer.org
Debbie Sims, dsims@computer.org