Executive Staff

Melissa RussellMelissa Russell

Executive Director

Melissa joined the Computer Society in June 2018. She leads the executive team and is responsible for managing the board of directors and volunteer groups, continuing the progress of the Society’s membership, international conferences, publications, standards, and training programs. For the past 17 years, Melissa worked for the Optical Society (OSA), where she held several different positions during her tenure. She most recently served as OSA's Chief Meetings and Industry Officer, where she oversaw nearly 70 annual events, two large tradeshows, and a portfolio of industry programs and activities supporting a corporate membership of nearly 300 companies and 1,000 corporate customers. Melissa received a BA in journalism with a specialization in advertising from The Ohio State University.


Anne Marie KellyAnne Marie Kelly

Associate Executive Director
Director of Governance

Anne Marie Kelly joined the IEEE Computer Society in 1988, and has previously served as its Director of Conferences, Director of Volunteer Services, and Acting Executive Director. During her career in nonprofit association management, she has held positions at the Director Marketing Association and National Conference of State History Preservation Officers. Kelly received an AB in American Studies with distinction from Georgetown University and holds an MBA from George Washington University. She is a Certified Association Executive (CAE) and Certified Meeting Planner (CMP). Kelly received the Computer Society's Harry Hayman Award for Distinguished Staff Achievement in 1999 and 2001.


Eric Berkowitz

Eric Berkowitz

Director of Membership

Eric Berkowitz joined the IEEE Computer Society as the membership development director in November 2013. He oversees the membership department, which focuses on recruitment, retention, and chapter development. Berkowitz has devoted his entire professional career to nonprofit development. With almost 20 years of membership marketing experience, he has helped a number of nonprofits develop strategies and tactics to grow membership. He holds a bachelor's degree in political science from West Virginia University.



Sunny HwangSunny Hwang

Director of Finance

Sunny Hwang joined the IEEE Computer Society as Director of Finance in June 2015. His more than 20 years of experience is in high-tech manufacturing companies. He previously held positions in corporate financial planning and analysis with several multi-billion dollar corporations, including Oakley, Gateway Computers, Packard Bell/NEC, and Seagate Technology. He holds a degree in finance from California State University, Fullerton and a MBA from UC Irvine Merage Business School. A native of southern California, he enjoys camping and golfing in his free time.


Computing Now